Sentara CEO Winners
You have saved None as your preferred region Undo or Change Region
Hampton Roads
Login for:
Go Search
Home News News Archives 2001 Archive

Sentara CEO Winners 

Skip navigation links
Sentara News Home
News Archives

The CEO's Award is the highest form of recognition for managers within Sentara. Its purpose is to recognize managers who have made significant changes and achieved dramatic improvements in cost savings, revenue growth or quality service standards.

Pharmacy Services Improvement Team
Ron Bieszcad, Elizabeth Brewsig, Richard Grasmick, Timothy Jennings, Patricia Kiehne, Elizabeth Lindsay-Wood, Niel Mason, Denise McCoy, John McDowell, Leslie Miller, William O'Brian, Norma Rehbein, Deno Sebastian, Kirby Steining, Mark Szalwinski, J. Miller Trimble, Shirley Wharton, Randy Axelrod, MD.

This team established a single, system-wide Pharmacy Therapeutics Committee and implemented PYXIS across the system with automatic chart and charge capture - the first health system to have done so with TDS. They also implemented an aggressive clinical pharmacist program and insourced the pharmacy contracting process at SHM. They improved quality by increasing availability and control of medicines and increased the appropriate use of medicines for hospital patients and SHM members. This team held the rate of cost increased for hospitals to 50 percent of the national trend, while increasing pharmacy revenue by 26 percent. For SHM, they avoided costs of $2 million by insourcing the pharmacy benefit management role.

Contact Us
Get Social with Sentara Sentara on Facebook Sentara on Twitter Sentara on Flickr Sentara on FourSquare Sentara Today Blog Sentara on YouTube
Your community, not-for-profit health partner.
Copyright © 2015 Sentara Healthcare.
Contact Us   About Sentara Healthcare   Privacy Policy   User Agreement   Mobile Site