Coleen Santa Ana

Coleen Santa Ana Coleen Santa Ana Coleen Santa Ana
President, Sentara Albemarle Medical Center

Coleen Santa Ana is the President of Sentara Albemarle Medical Center (SAMC), which is comprised of a 182-bed hospital, Sentara Kitty Hawk outpatient facility, and the physician practices of Albemarle Physician Services – Sentara, Inc.

A Virginia Beach native, she began her career with Sentara Healthcare as an administrative clerk and has since worked to develop comprehensive experience across the healthcare system. She has eight years of experience in the “for-profit” healthcare sector with both Healthcare Corporation of America and Universal Health Services where she gained executive experience, and ultimately attained the role of Hospital COO before she returned to Sentara. Ms. Santa Ana played an integral role in leading the Sentara Albemarle Medical Center Strategic Plan to develop and facilitate the integration of Sentara’s newest hospital merger. In March 2014, she took the helm as President of SAMC and began to implement a culture of patient-centered care. Under her leadership, SAMC has achieved significant improvements in safety, quality and financial performance as well as growth through strengthening and building new services and recruiting over 20 new healthcare providers to provide care for the communities in Northeastern North Carolina.

Coleen holds a Master of Health Administration degree from Virginia Commonwealth University, MCV Campus and a Bachelor of Science in Health Services Administration with minors in psychology and business from James Madison University in Harrisonburg, VA. Upon completion of graduate school, she completed her administrative residency with Hospital Corporation of America.

Coleen currently serves as a Board member for the College of the Albemarle, a member of the North Carolina Hospital Association’s Policy Development Committee, an ex-officio member of the Elizabeth City Chamber of Commerce and is currently participating in the CIVIC Leadership Institute’s Class of 2017.